top of page

MCM week 4 recap

Another Monday, another recap!

We're halfway through May, & I'm at 55.4 miles for the month so far. That's a big win considering I need to tackle a decent volume this month.

I actually only ran 3 days this week, but they were 3 great quality runs-- 4.27 miles midday miles, 6 miles with 800s, & an 11.5 mile long run, totaling 21.77 miles on the week. My pace averaged 8:41/mile, and everything mostly fell close to that pace. Heading forward, I still need to work on my slow being slower so my fast can be faster. I need to shoot for a handful of miles each week being well above the 9:00/mile pace because I tend to strive for most miles being faster than that. Mentally, it just makes me feel good knowing I'm running faster than a 9:00/mile pace. I need to leave my ego out of it! Ain't nobody got time for that.

The days are getting hotter quick as summer approaches Florida, so I've got to continue to be smart about fueling and timing. I have to think of Rhett and his sun exposure carefully when I take him out in the stroller.

I did (& survived) my first ice bath Saturday night-- although 2 bags of ice definitely isn't enough! It was uncomfortable, and I got all nice and shivery, but it's gonna take at least 4 bags of ice for the next round. It wasn't very long before it was all melted. I will say my legs felt super good the next day though! Not sure if that speaks to not pushing myself much all week, or if the little bit of recovery I got from my slushy bath helped.

My nutrition has been pretty junky, so going forward, I'm putting a little more of a focus on cleaning it up. I can tell a huge difference in my recovery when I eat to run, not the other way around!


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page