top of page

MCM week 3 recap

My first weekly recap for the Marine Corps Marathon is already here! Granted, it's coming at the beginning of week 4, but really, the first 2 weeks were uneventful.

Stats: 25 miles planned, 28.27 completed; 5 days run, 2 days yoga (10 minutes each), 1 day strength training; longest run @ 10 miles

I felt very solid all week without any crazy dips in motivation. 2 runs were morning runs, which is a big accomplishment for me! I did my speed work on the treadmill, and I liked knowing I could hit my paces perfectly that way. Otherwise, I still struggle to slow my "easy" pace down enough.

I set a goal to do at least 1 ice bath per month of training, so I'll be due for one this weekend if I'm to stick to that! I told Marcus to hold me to it, so I have a feeling he's going to secretly relish that. I'm doing 11 miles on Saturday, so that will get an icy recovery!

I'm doing much better the last month or 2 with running consistently. I feel great about the base I'm building right now, and I'm excited to begin upping my volume. I'm not as far along mileage-wise for the year as I wanted to be to accomplish 1,000 miles this year, but I know I'll have several 100+ mile months in the near future, so that goal is in no way out of reach! I just have to stick to it.

This is my first weekly training recap, so it's a little lacking in substance, I realize, but I'll look around at some other blogs and see what others post for their recaps, and I'll make week 4's recap much better, I promise!

Things I'm looking forward to: PacificHealth labs is sending me some samples of their 4:1 ratio Accel Gels, and I'm pumped to try them out for some long runs! Stay tuned for a review of those.


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page