top of page

Running in Florida- my heat essentials

Good morning, world!

Can you believe it is already Star Wars day?! Well, it's Star Wars day in my house because my husband is a Darth Vader nut. He demanded I at least have the movie marathon running in the house all day as background noise, even though I won't exactly be able to post up on the couch and watch it, thanks to a very busy 9 month old.

Anyways, this year is flying by, as per usual I suppose. Which means marathon training is truly going to fly by, too! Woo hoo! We're about 24 weeks (I think) out of the Marine Corps Marathon, and every single day is a little hotter than the last. Luckily, I much prefer running in the heat to the cold. I love a good and drenched sweat, but I also have to be very mindful of some things. Read on for my survival tips!

1. Duh, hydrate.

But not too much. Lots of runners chug a bunch of water when they're hot, but did you know drinking water doesn't actually cool you down? If you're feeling overheated, you're actually going to do more good by applying cool packs to your neck and getting out of the heat. Dunking your hands in icy water and applying wash clothes with cold water mixed with witch hazel to your forehead and neck is also ah-ma-zing. Frogg togg's chilly pad works even better than a wash cloth--we swore by these for the Keys 100 relay last May!

2. Get some electrolytes and sugar to absorb that water.

I'm not a Gatorade fan as I try to avoid artificial colors and other unnecessary junk, but do have yourself a source of electrolytes. When you're excessively sweating and trying to rehydrate, you need electrolytes and some sugar to help your body reabsorb water. That doesn't mean cram in a dozen Krispy Kremes, but a little fruit and some Himalayan pink salt goes a long way for aiding your rehydration. Be strategic about how much you're taking in, too. Getting too much will definitely cause some queasiness! When in doubt, sip slowly and intentionally, aiming for no more than 8 ounces every 10-15 minutes. Hyponatremia is no joke!

3. Lube up.

Chafe much? I do! It's no fun. Shorts became my enemy for a while, but it is truly just too hot for capri leggings now. So body glide it is! Some folks prefer other brands, but play around with them and see what you like. If you're already chafing, you're better off with an aquaphor or vaseline. Slather it on wherever you might rub (think blistery spots on your feet, where your shoes may rub your ankles, between your thighs-- thanks chub rub, between your shirt and armpits, under your sports bras, between your nips and shirt-- men get bloody nipples?, and any other spots of irritation you may notice!) If you're in a pinch, deodorant can even serve as a temporary moisture barrier, but I've found the effects only last a few miles.

4. Ditch the sleeves.

What is it about short sleeves that make you 10,000 times hotter than a tank top? I first noticed this phenomenon when working at a summer camp in Arkansas. It turns out I get so much hotter in a short sleeve shirt versus a tank top, so opt for a tank if you can!

5. Cover those eyes.

I like sunglasses as much as the next Floridian, but I don't really like to run in them. I have some amazing Maui Jim's (thanks hubby) that don't slide down my nose, but if you aren't so lucky, a visor or hat can save those eyeballs. All that squinting isn't good for your crow's feet!

6. Sunrise & sunset are your friend.

Now, I am not a natural morning person. I've had to fight pretty hard to be okay with mornings in recent years. I am still far from a morning runner, but Florida heat leaves me little to no option for midday running! I can do a shorter effort in the heat of the day, but I can't bear to get Rhett out in the stroller in that sun and heat, so morning or night it is. Avoid the hottest time of the day, if you can, but be aware the humidity will be a little worse. It's the most humid in the morning and night, so make sure you're in wicking materials, of course, and don't forget to make sure you're super visible.

7. Think thin.

I have a bunch of pairs of padded running socks that I LOVE, but they don't agree with sweat and humidity. It doesn't take them long to feel pretty sopping wet, so I go for thinner, moisture-wicking socks. There's tons of brands out there, but I have several Nike pairs that I love.

8. Dry your shoes.

Did you know the soles of running shoes wear out faster in more humid climates? True story! If you're like me, you like to push your shoes to a good 500 miles or so, but I have to be very wary of what months the bulk of that training is in. If I'm doing lots of hot, humid running a single shoe, I tend to rotate a new one in sooner rather than later. Make sure you keep your shoes in a place where they can dry completely between runs. In your car is NOT a good place, nor is your porch where they are exposed to the elements. Be kind to your shoes if you want them to be kind to you!

9. Embrace the wind.

I tend to despise running in the wind. I mean, how is it possible I can be in a head wind both directions of an out and back?! That seems to happen to me more often than I would like! If you possibly can, plan your run so that a head wind will be in the second half of your run. It may feel a little tougher, but a little breeze can go a long way in cooling you off a touch, too. Just don't let it make you push your pace.

All this talk of running in the heat has me itching for a good sweat, so let's get out there and get our natural cleanse on!


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page